1 dpo

Yesterday, my weekly acupuncture appointment confirmed ovulation – yay!  The last couple of cycles we’ve been lax in the baby dancing department – every 2nd day – but luckily our fertile period started on the Friday and we managed to BD every day – yay!  My TCM practitioner was very impressed with our dedication.  After a few cycles of being lax and going every 2nd day, I think it made it a little easier. 

We have had cycles of daily sex from CD 8 through to 16 or 17 and that (coupled with work and household duties) just feels like too much. 

There was an interesting lesson learned over the weekend – shower sex is certainly not as easy as it appears on TV!  Brew Man is 6’3″, I’m 5’3″ and we almost killed ourselves!!  If anyone has any tips I’d love to read them 🙂

I’m also back on the powdered Chinese herbs this cycle.  If you see an older-trained TCM practitioner (especially ones trained in China) – you’ll probably be on raw herbs that need to be cooked.  They’re bulky, take lots of preparation and cooking them in your kitchen stinks out the whole house.  I was taking some when seeing a different practitioner at the end of last year – but they threw my very predictable cycles out of whack.

So I’m back on powdered herbs from Sun Ten – they’re concentrated, so to take them I warm a small glass of water, add the prescribed number of spoons of powder, stir and drink.  A lot easier than raw herbs.

The other alternative is to take Black Pearl pills (also made by Sun Ten) – the only draw back is they might not be strong enough.  The pills are tiny – small ball bearing size.

On the good news front – our puppy Ziva comes home on Saturday 🙂 

I’ve never owned a pet other than fish before – so I’m feeling a little paranoid.  We’re enrolled to start puppy pre-school on Monday nights and I’m listening to some dog training podcasts to make sure I don’t do anything that might get Ziva into a bad habit that would be difficult to break her out of.

In a move that many would probably criticise, she’ll be toilet trained to an indoor toilet from when she comes home (3 months) until the age of 6-8 months.  I do work from home 3.5 days a week, then I’m at the office for 1.5 days – so it’s more to get her into a routine for the 1.5 days when we’re not at home. 

I have installed a dog door for her, but I’ve been advised not to allow puppies outside on their own until they reach 6 months. 

That being said, she’ll be trained to pee indoors but we’ll also allow her to go outside if we’re already out there.

Someone said to me that last weekend was our last weekend as a family unit of 2 – felt nice hearing that 🙂

Baby dust to all (and remember, fingers crossed, legs open!)

3 responses to “1 dpo

  1. I used to pour my herbs into a shot glass with wheat grass and doing them with a chaser of cranberry juice. Such a far cry from my college days:) (it worked tho!)

  2. Kudos!. It is quite awesome of you to list down the main points in a basic and yet
    appealing way. Yes , it is easy to end up pregnent more quickly by adopting
    a positive and scheduled approach.

  3. digitalangeldonnadj

    I am looking on that site and could not find the black pearl pills mentioned. I think the chinese name would be Chuifong Toukuwan. Which product there contains that? The site is kinda defunction and not user friendly at all.

Leave a Reply

